News Ticker

Altered Five Blues Band – Holler If You Hear Me

Label: Blind Pig Records
Release Date: September 3, 2021

Consistently witty, inventive, and unexpected… this band excels at both
songwriting and chops.” Blues Music Magazine

The blues is designed as a form that allows the artist to express sorrow or jubilation in equal measures. The men in Milwaukee’ s acclaimed Altered Five Blues Band push the limits of this axiom on their sixth studio album, Holler If You Hear Me. The 2018 Blues Music Award nominees once again recorded over five fast and furious days in Nashville, TN with three-time Grammy winner Tom Hambridge, who produced the band’ s chart-topping album Ten Thousand Watts,
earning them a first place in the blues category of the 2019 International Songwriting Competition. The 13 original tracks are a testament to the songwriting skills of guitarist, Jeff Schroedl, who wrote or co-wrote all the songs to exploit the powerful vocals and exuberant showmanship of front man, Jeff Taylor. Bassist Mark Solveson anchors the rock-solid rhythm section with drummer Alan Arber, while Raymond Tevich melds his crafty keyboard work to create the group’s muscular midwestern sound.

The baker’ s dozen of rockin’ blues and scorching soul tracks kicks off with the jumping title track “ Holler If You Hear Me,” a real rabble rouser that features the first of five guest spots from Jason Ricci, who brings his sizzling harmonica to the house party. Taylor and Schroedl ease their way into the swampy tale of late-night fun “Guilty Of A Good Time,” defending the case for happy-golucky revelers, who mean no harm. Ricci rejoins the fellas for the two-beat stomper “If You Go Away (She Might Come Back),” taking a hot solo on the boiling advice-column shouter. The classic slow 8-bar blues “Holding On With One Hand” finds Taylor opening his heart, as his love slips away. A hot guitar riff gives way to gritty clavinet and Hammond B3 on the fast moving “Full Moon, Half Crazy.” Ricci adds harmonic tension and some superb Little Walter styled licks to the swinging “Where’ s My Money.” Arber lays down a Stubblefield groove for the fabulous funk “All Suit, No Soul,” and everyone digs deep into the slinky tale of self-preservation “I Got All I Need.”

Taylor demonstrates his manly swagger during the bump and grind blues “Clear Conscience, Bad Memory,” and declares his independence and nightlife readiness on the driving rocker “In The Name Of No Good.” The dramatic blues, “ Leave Before I Let You Down,” is the story of a tormented lover battling his inner demons. The edgy “Fifteen Minutes Of Blame” is a classic tome of hard luck and trouble that features more hot instrumental chops from Schroedl and the boys. Ricci returns for track 13, “ Big Shout Out,” and helps the band close the set by namechecking
“ everybody who built the blues,” as a swinging all-star roll call of musical heroes. A song that will certainly be a great addition to any blues radio show.

Under Tom Hambridge’ s direction, as only he knows how to make great sounding records, the Altered Five Blues Band have once against created another strong album of sonic delights further solidifying their place in the blues rock landscape. – Rick J Bowen

Track Listing:
01 Holler If You Hear Me
02 Guilty Of A Good Time
03 If You Go Away (She Might Come Back)
04 Holding On With One Hand
05 Full Moon Half Crazy
06 Where’s My Money
07 All Suit No Soul
08 I Got All I Need
09 Clear Conscience Bad Memory
10 In The Name Of No Good
11 Leave Before I Let You Down
12 Fifteen Minutes Of Blame
13 Big Shout Out

Website Altered Five Blues Band

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.