News Ticker

Big Harp George – Living In The City

Release Date: October 10 2020

Here we go again on a thrilling ride through a global sonic landscape painted by Big Harp George, a bluesman like no other! Since his stunning, award-nominated 2014 debut album Chromaticism, George has progressively expanded his palette, with colors and shades rarely seen before in our genre. While solidly rooted in American jazz and blues, George’s forays into other genres and cultures have grown ever more adventurous, culminating in this masterpiece of 13 original songs. Starting from somewhere between Memphis and New Orleans and ending in the Gaza Strip, this album is a fearless statement by a mature musician in full stride. George taps a current in blues that voices both the pain and the hopes of the oppressed, while never lacking a spirit of life-affirming humor and joy. George always enlists top talent, but the team this time is broader than ever. Knitting it all together is George’s clarion voice, lilting chromatic harmonica, and unique musical vision. This will surely be among the most striking entries to the blues canon in this, or any other, year. It includes the last recorded music of Little Charlie Baty, to whom the album is dedicated.

Musicians: Big Harp George – vocals and harmonicas, Amal Murkus – vocals, Ben Torres – baritone sax and flute, Carlos Reyes – Paraguayan harp and violin, Chris Burns – keyboards and vocals, D’Mar – percussion, Doug Rowan – baritone sax, Firas Zreik – qanun (zither), June Core – drums, Joe Kyle – basses, Kid Andersen – basses, guitar, and vocals, Lisa Leuschner Andersen – vocals, Little Charlie Baty – guitar, Loay Dahbour – iiqae (Arabic percussion), Loralee Christensen – vocals, Michael Peloquin – saxes, Mike Rinta – trombone, Sons of the Soul Revivers (James, Dwayne, and Walter Morgan) – vocals.

01 Build Myself an App 3:40
02 Smoking Tires 4:36
03 Living in the City 4:55
04 Heading Out to Itaipu 6:02
05 Copayment 4:41
06 Try Nice? 4:30
07 Bayside Bounce 4:24
08 Don’t Talk! 3:36
09 First Class Muck Up 4:00
10 Chew Before You Swallow 4:43
11 Enrique 5:53
12 Pusher in a White Coat 6:30
13 Meet Me at the Fence 5:59

Website Big Harp George

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.