News Ticker

Cary Morin – Dockside Saints

Release August 14

12 powerful tracks recorded at Dockside Studio in Maurice, LA.  April 2019. Produced and engineered by multi-Grammy winning  producer/ engineer, Tony Daigle.  Mastered by Jim Demain at Yes Master in Nashville, TN.

This recording project came about in 2018, at the urging of a friend of mine from Lafayette, LA.  He thought that my Piedmont blues style of songwriting and guitar playing was a good fit for the rhythms and sounds of Cajun, Creole, and Zydeco music.  He took me out to tour the infamous Dockside Studios in Maurice, LA, and encouraged Dockside’s founding engineer/producer, Tony Daigle, to attend my show in Lafayette that evening.  Tony did come to my show that night, and upon leaving, told me that if I were to want to come to Maurice to record, he was my man.  With the help of Tony Daigle and local drummer, Dave Nezat, we began to assemble an all-star cast of Lafayette area musical heroes and make a plan.

The lure of working with such an illustrious & talented group in this multi-award winning Louisiana studio was too good to resist.  I went home from that tour and began to write a collection of songs, specifically for this project.  I returned in April of 2019 to spend one solid week with Tony and the guys, laying down all of the foundational tracks. Over these past several months, we have added various instrumentation and harmony vocals and as of February 2020, completed all aspects of recording, mixing, and mastering.

The ancient Native culture of the South has been an inspiration as it relates to our travels and what has become an annual pilgrimage to the Mississippi Valley. This collection of songs represents our annual migration, just as my ancestors migrated from this region to the Western Plains so many centuries ago; sharing culture through music and more along the way. It is the product of our imagination of what was, and what has become our love of the sounds of the south.

01 Nobody Gotta Know
02 Exception to the Rule
03 Prisoner
04 Because He told Me So
05 Tonight
06 Jamie Rae
07 Bare Trees
08 Valley of the Chiefs
09 Chosen Road
10 Cary’s Groove
11 Blue Delta Home
12 Come the Rain

Website Cary Morin

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.