News Ticker

Chris Daniels, Hazel Miller & Dana Marsh – What We Did

Label: Moon Voyage Records

In times of crisis musicians are always among the first to respond when the call goes out for
volunteers to lend their time and talents to aid a benefit for a cause. Guitarist Chris Daniels,
leader of Colorado Music Hall of Fame band Chris Daniels and the Kings, was asked to perform a
virtual concert for Inner City Health, he did not hesitate. The organization’ s mission is to reduce
the inequity of health and wellness access and delivery in underserved populations of Denver.

For two online sessions during the pandemic, Daniels was joined by Hazel Miller on vocals and
Dana Marsh on keys, forming a trio to record ten songs that produced What We Did. Daniels
invited a collection of friends and cohorts to add to the tracks including vocalist Freddi Gowdy,
guitarist Todd Park Mohr (Big Head Todd and the Monsters), Greg Garrison (Leftover Salmon)
and International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame mandolin player Sam Bush, plus acclaimed
bassist, and author Victor Wooten (Bela Fleck and the Flecktones) and drummer, Christian Teele,
best known for his work as the house drummer for the internationally syndicated radio show,
eTown. In addition, one of classic rock’s most sought after bass players, Kenny Passarelli, and
fellow Colorado musicians, Tom Capek on Hammond B3 with Mark Oblinger and Linda Lawson
adding background vocals, round out the album of faithful readings and adventurous
interpretations of original songs and sing-along classics.

The party gets started with The Doobie Brothers 1976 anthem of peace and unity, “ Takin’ It To
The Streets,” with Miller and Gowdy sharing vocal duties and Wooten providing lead bass for the
rousing opener. The tempo of Albert King’ s electric blues standard “Born Under A Bad Sign” is
slowed to a smoldering R&B groove giving the singers more room to work the lyrical phrasing
and Big Head Todd a wide pallet for his spacious guitar leads. Daniels and Miller play Fred and
Ginger, while Bush displays nimble fret work on the soft shoe classic “Cheek To Cheek.”

The crew steps into the Buena Vista Social Club for an acoustic run down of the romantic salsa
number, “ I’m Still Lookin’ ,” from Chris Daniels & The Kings’ 2004 album, The Spark, featuring fine
piano work from Marsh. Miller and her formidable vocal chops take us to church for the emotional
offertory “Could You Believe,” from the Al Jarreau catalog. George Weiss wrote the song “What A
Wonderful World,” specifically for Louis Armstrong after being inspired by Armstrong’s ability to
bring people of different races together. The song has become synonymous with hope and
optimism and was a natural fit for Daniels and Miller to include on the collection, as it emulates
the ideals of Inner City Health.

The party gets jumping for a fun-loving cover of ZZ Hill’ s “Down Home Blues” with Capek
throwing down greasy organ and Daniels firing back with sizzling slide guitar and Mohr on
Stratocaster answering the call. The duo of Daniels and Miller have fun on the bawdy duet
“Stealin’ Candy” and the timeless Carol King/James Taylor ballad “You’ ve Got A Friend,” is
delivered like genuine troubadours. The album closes with the title track to Daniels 2012 solo
album, “ Better Days,” the acoustic hymn serving as an optimistic benediction.

Because of the selfless efforts of Daniels and friends, proceeds from What We Did will help Inner
City Health make a difference for as many people as they can. – Rick J Bowen

Track Listing:
01 Takin’ It To The Streets
02 Born Under A Bad Sign
03 Cheek To Cheek
04 I’m Still Lookin’
05 Could You Believe
06 What A Wonderful World
07 Down Home Blues
08 Stealin’ Candy
09 You’ve Got A Friend
10 Better Days

Website Chris Daniels

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.