News Ticker

Dave Thomas – One More Mile


Blues patriarch Son House famously said“ there ain’t but one kind of blues and that consist between a male and a female that is in love.“ Welsh born guitarist and singer songwriter Dave Thomas has been guided by that axiom for over 50 years. From his beginnings in 1969 with the prog rock pioneers Blonde On Blonde, and on to his many forays through folk, rock, blue eyed soul, and roots music and leading his own Dave Thomas Blues Band, he has always shown a love for sad songs that explore matters of the heart. His new album “One More Mile,” the first in five years, was a decade in the making, and is the first of three new releases to come. The ten new tracks feature collaborations with great musician and songwriter friends including long time drummer for Van Morrison, Terry Popple, Canadian songwriter Tony Henderson, along with lead guitarist for Christie Moore, the esteemed Declan Sinnott, and the UK band Groundhogs. Some of the recording sessions date back 20 years to the 1990’s and 2003, presented as an eclectic mix of styles with original material and select covers that feature Thomas’ distinct vocal style.

The album’s opening number would be the fulfillment of a dream for many singers. The sparkling arrangement of B.B. King’s ‘It’s My Own Fault,’ places Thomas in the center of a precise combo and the dazzling horn section from the Travis Haddix Band. A real blues lover’s dream continues on the funky horn driven original ‘I Like My Chicken Fried’ that features hot Hammond organ from Tom Arnold sparring with strong guitar from Thomas. He then pays tribute to the late great James Cotton by brandishing his harmonica skills on the cover of Cotton’s Chicago Blues classic ‘One More Mile To Go.’ The Soul-Blues groove of ‘Poor Boy,’ is a mesh of modern and traditional elements that draws comparisons to tunes from Robben Ford and Robert Cray. Irish multi-instrumentalist Declan Sinnott played all the instruments on three original tracks written by Henderson that sit in the middle of the album. Thomas enumerates on the plight of the working man on the acoustic ramble ‘I Want The Blues,’ elaborating on his wish to leave the complications of the world behind and find solace in the blues. The delicate sonnet ‘You Danced In My Kitchen,’ is a work of poetic brilliance with Celtic heart and soul. While the lonesome ballad ‘There’s A Train,’ has bitter-sweet undertones that are punctuated by sweet harmonies and lyrical Mandolin strains from Sinnott.

The project takes a psychedelic side trip to a studio in Bristol where The Groundhogs jammed out three more acid blues rockers from the trios 1970 album, “Thank Christ For The Bomb,” penned by first generation British Blues disciple Tony McPhee. The high tenor vocal from Thomas plays off the roaring guitars on the environmental activism anthem prototype ‘Garden.’ The time-shifting bombast ‘Eccentric Man,’ which could be a lost gem from The Hendrix Experience vault is remade here with new fire. The session ends with the punk blues explosion ‘Strange Town.’

Thomas remarks about the album when interviewed by Tony Bell “ I call it “One More Mile,” because it really feels like a lifetime journey that I’ve been on. And I’ve been playing music for well over 50 years, so the milestone is quite significant. The material comes from three different periods, the common theme is my voice, the music is in different styles, but they fit together well.“ A fine first chapter in an historic trilogy from a journeyman artist. – Rick J Bowen

Track List:
01 It’s My Own Fault 6:20
02 I Like My Chicken Fried 4:10
03 One More Mile To Go 4:02
04 Poor Boy 3:54
05 I Want The Blues 2:46
06 You Danced In My Kitchen 4:38
07 There’s A Train 3:29
08 Garden 5:19
09 Eccentric Man 4:19
10 Strange Town 4:15

Website Dave Thomas

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.