News Ticker

Hollis Brown – “Don’tcha Bother Me” (In The Aftermath)

Release Date: February 4, 2022
Label: Mascot Label Group

On Hollis Brown’s upcoming album, ‘In The Aftermath,’ the Queens, New York-based quintet pays tribute to a seminal work in rock ‘n’ roll history – The Rolling Stones’ US Version of their first album of all original material, ‘Aftermath.’ For singer-guitarist Mike Montali, the latest single “Don’tcha Bother Me,” which features Muddy Waters-approved slide guitar, seething vocals, and lonesome harmonica, is as relevant today as it was when it was originally released in 1966.

“’Doncha Bother Me’ is a raw, bluesy, jam that came together as a live take in the studio,” recalls singer-guitarist Mike Montali. “The slide guitar and the groove is so fun to play. The lyrics comment on tastemaker culture, and influencers, which is as relevant today as ever. One of the reasons we wanted to do this Rolling Stones tribute record was to highlight some of the great back wall material from the early Stones period. This song is a great example of that.”

In The Aftermath,’ is the deliciously depraved outcome of an all-night rock n’ roll riot. The Queens, New York-based quintet escaped to the Poconos to record with a few handles of whiskey, and, in one 24-hour session, ran down 1966’s ‘Aftermath.’ The album will be released on February 4th via Mascot Label Group/Cool Green Recordings.

“It was a whirlwind recording session—we were on no sleep, and getting liquored up. You can definitely hear the looseness on that final track, ‘Going Home,’” singer-guitarist Mike Montali recalls, laughing. He continues: “We weren’t focused on cleanliness—we were after a feeling.”

Coming on the heels of their most successful studio album to-date – 2019’s Ozone Park, which earned rave reviews from Rolling Stone, Billboard, Paste Magazine, Pop Matters, Relix, and Goldmine – ‘In The Aftermath’ was an artistic inevitable for Hollis Brown. Previously, Hollis Brown issued, ‘Gets Loaded,’ saluting Velvet Underground’s ‘Loaded.’ The five-piece band enjoyed doing the VU album so much they began to joke about doing a “Hollis Brown presents…” series, covering formative records in their artistic continuum.

Yet, on ‘In The Aftermath,’ Hollis Brown doesn’t try to out-Stones the Stones. Instead, they find clever ways to salute the Stones legacy. For the first album single, “Under My Thumb,” they distill the track down to a punky snarl inspired by the lean and mean ‘Some Girls’ album. Hollis Brown turn in a faithful reading of “Dontcha Bother Me” replete with Muddy Waters-approved slide guitar, seething vocals, and lonesome harmonica. The guys bravely tackle “Paint It Black,” and harness the ominous power of the track through swapping its classic, world-music perspective for a muscular guitar-rock approach. Here, the drums are essentialized down to an infectious garage-rock beat that perfectly aligns with the burly guitar riffage.

Hollis Brown has amassed an engaged fanbase through touring tirelessly, making its way through the U.S. and Europe, both on their own and supporting the likes of Citizen Cope, Counting Crows, Jackie Greene, Jesse Malin, and the Zombies, among others. The guys pinched the band name from the Bob Dylan song, “Ballad of Hollis Brown,” and its moniker neatly epitomizes the group’s commitment to melding a signature Americana blend with fine song-craft. Hollis Brown will perform select sets of ‘In The Aftermath’ on its upcoming February and March tour – and inspiration from the album’s freewheeling recording sessions will definitely impact the band’s next album of all originals which is mostly written.

Track Listing:
01 Paint it Black
02 Stupid Girl
03 Lady Jane
04 Under My Thumb
05 Doncha Bother Me
06 Think
07 Flight 505
08 High and Dry
09 It’s Not Easy
10 I Am Waiting
11 Goin’ Home

Website Hollis Brown

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.