News Ticker

Jarkka Rissanen & Sons Of The Desert – Cargo

Release: May 7th 2021
Label: Humu Records

Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert releases new album Cargo on the 7th of May 2021 in vinyl, CD and digital formats. On the new album, you can hear how the band deftly combines its various blues influences from Mississippi delta to Chicago blues, yet at the same time their fearless music sprawls upwards and into many different directions. The upcoming album is a varied and unified whole filled with electric guitar music in which mood trumps technical virtuosity.

More so than the previous album Hybrid Soul, the new album highlights the laid-back union of like-minded guitarists Jarkka Rissanen and Markus Väisänen. The vistas created by the guitars are framed by Sons of the Desert’s solid rhythm section, which comprises of veteran percussionist Esa Kärki and the band’s newest member, seasoned bass player Ilpo Komulainen.

Frontman Jarkka Rissanen’s career has been long and illustrious. During the years he has played with many famous Finnish artists and bands such as Finnforrest, Rauli Badding, Remu Aaltonen, Eero Raittinen, Pepe Ahlqvist etc. Cargo is the seventh album bearing Rissanen’s own name.

Jarkka Rissanen, electric and acoustic guitars, slide guitar, bass ( 5 ), baritone guitar, Fender Rhodes, mandolin, lap steel, percussion
Markus Väisänen, electric guitar, solos ( 1,6 )
Ilpo Komulainen, bass
Esa Kärki , drums, percussion

1 Tomcat
2 Rocking Chair
3 Cargo
4 Mousetrap
5 Tofu Queen
6 Pow – Wow
7 The Bull
8 Roll Call
9 Once Upon A Time

All songs by Jarkka Rissanen, except ( 7, 8 ) by Rissanen / Väisänen

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.