News Ticker

Johnny Ray Jones – Way Down South

Release Date: July 30, 2021
Label: Moondog Records

Johnny Ray Jones is back with the follow-up to “Feet Back In The Door.” The new highly-anticipated second album “Way Down South” is an all-out celebration of blues, roots & Americana soul, the next chapter in the unfolding story of the Godson of Soul, Johnny Ray Jones, vocalist & songwriter from Los Angeles. Johnny Ray Jones grew up in the L.A. blues music scene. Sam “Bluzman” Taylor, Johnny’s voice coach & mentor, traded him lessons for driving Sam to his shows & recording sessions. Percy Mayfield’s widow Tina Mayfield, Johnny’s godmother, booked Johnny Ray his first weekly blues shows at her club, Blues Unlimited, in South Central Los Angeles in the early ‘80s. Johnny Ray has performed with Big Joe Turner, John Fogerty & L.A.’s beloved blues-rockers The Red Devils. On this album, Johnny Ray brings back the top flight talent that made the first album so successful. Drummer Tony Braunagel (Phantom Blues Band, Taj Mahal, Bonnie Raitt, Robert Cray, Eric Burdon) and guitarist Johnny Lee Schell (Phantom Blues Band, Bonnie Raitt, Taj Mahal) return to contribute their production magic and stellar musicianship. Featured are: Mike Finnigan – Piano, Organ (Bonnie Raitt, Phantom Blues Band, Joe Cocker, Etta James) James “Hutch” Hutchinson – Bass (Bonnie Raitt, The Neville Brothers, Joe Cocker); Joe Sublett – Tenor Sax (Phantom Blues Band, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Taj Mahal, Bonnie Raitt); Mark Pender – Trumpet (Bruce Springsteen, Southside Johnny) and Ritchie “La Bamba” Rosenberg – Trombone (Bruce Springsteen, Southside Johnny). Legendary guitarist Coco Montoya steps in once again with another searing spot, this time on the Johnny Ray Jones original “L.A. Fog.” Johnny Ray’s gravel-and-silk
voice and the work of this stellar band put this album on the top shelf. With this release “Way Down South” the Godson Of Soul Johnny Ray Jones & company are ready to celebrate these Americana roots, soul & contemporary blues.

Track Listing:
01 Steamy Windows (4:01)
02 I Got The Will (2:55)
03 Don;t Burn Down The Bridge (3:21)
04 Way Down Southv(4:21)
05 You Don’t Care (3:25)
06 Shine On Me (4:12)
07 Tunica Motel (3:59)
08 L.A. Fog (4:30)
09 Ninety Nine And A Half (I Won’t Do) (3:08)
10 Give Away None O f My Love (3:02)
11 Nothing Takes The Place Of You (3:39)

Website Johnny Ray Jones

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.