News Ticker

Mick Pini – Backtrack

‘Backtrack’ is collaboration between the German based, Leicester blues veteran Mick Pini and Audio54 producer, writer and musician Craig Marshall.

Once described by Eric Clapton as ‘The legitimate successor to Peter Green’, Mick has toured Europe with the likes of BB King, Luther Allison, Freddie King, Buddy Guy, Luther Allison, Sherman Robertson and recorded with Jimmy Carl Black (Frank Zappa), Roy Estrada (Little Feat)  and Adrian Byron Burns.  

The initial idea for ‘Backtrack’ came from promoter/blues DJ/ Pete Feenstra who saw Craig’s Audio 54 project as a great way to update Mick’s music. The result is this compilation album featuring Pini’s favourite tracks from his extensive 25 album catalogue and 55 year musical career.

The album tracks have been remixed and re-mastered and in part re-imagined by Leicester based Craig Marshall’s sonic detail and musical vision. As Craig explains: “I think this album updates Mick’s past.  More importantly it paves the way for his new material and collaborations.”

Mick adds: “It’s a dream come true for me finding a producer like Craig. He’s inventive and a catalyst in pushing my music into new directions.”

Leicester born Mick Pini formed his first band aged 15, becoming a stalwart of the East Midlands scene. He went on to play The Cavern in Liverpool – now immortalised in the venue’s famous brickwork – as well as London’s Marquee club.

His was discovered by the legendary Mike Vernon in the late 80’s. who signing him for the all star Mick’ Wildman Pini’ album featuring Paul Jones, Chris Youlden and American bluesman Adrian Byron Burns.

Vernon also helmed 1999’s ‘Blues Gonna Be My Way’, before Mick moved to Germany, where he became an integral part of the Euro blues scene.

Craig Marshall has fast been making a name for himself, producing mixing and mastering several ground breaking projects spanning blues, trance, soul, funk and ambient music all under the banner of Audio 54.

‘Backtrack’ features 4 Audio 54 tracks, and a cross section of Mick’s career with Peter Green style haunting blues, to big band blues, shuffles, slide guitar blues, down- blues and always topped by his evocative tone.

Track Listing:
01 Jumping Blues
02 Blues for Peter Green
03 Shadows
04 Blues is Cheap
05 You Know I Can
06 Into the Distance
07 Standing in the Rain
08 Slow Hands
09 Got It Bad
10 Snowy Wood
11 One Glass of Water
12 Wasteland

Website Mick Pini

1 Reactie op Mick Pini – Backtrack

  1. Dank u well for the Mick Pini information

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.