News Ticker

Nathan Bell – Red, White And American Blues (it couldn’t happen here)

Format: CD, DL & STREAM
Label: Need To Know Music
Release Date: October 1, 2021

Recorded in 2019 in Capitola, California at Skunkworks Studios, and delayed two years by the Pandemic, Red, White and American Blues (it couldn’t happen here) remains relevant in every way.

In 13 original songs, featuring guest appearances by Patty Griffin, Regina McCrary and Aubrie Sellers, the album takes the listener on a journey, from the Dead Thumb Blues of South Texas, through Swamp Music, American Roots Rock, and West Coast Spoken Jazz Poetry to the Folk stages of London.

Photo by Kathleen Greeson

Nathan Bell is the subject of a 2020 Documentary short film I Don’t Do This For Love (American Songwriter Nathan Bell on tour in Scotland, Wales and England) and was a best-of selection for Americana-UK in 2016, 2017, and 2018, including Best Male Artist of 2017.

“This is the kind of artist that Nathan Bell is: The year Donald Trump was impeached as president of the United States, Nathan was writing songs that would make up Red, White and American Blues (it couldn’t happen here), the subtitle a direct reference to Sinclair Lewis’s 1935 novel imagining the possibility that the people of the United States of America could be mindlessly led to fascism. Like Lewis’s novel, this album could be the most important piece of literature of our particular moment in time. You may call that last sentence hyperbole, but I just call it honest. Red, White and American Blues is not a protest album, although it has protest songs. It’s not a Black Lives Matter album, but in these songs, Black lives matter. It’s an American album. It’s a set of
songs about a broken country and its broken people. It’s a cautionary album.” – Mark Kemp Mark Kemp, author of ‘Dixie Lullaby: A Story of Music, Race and New Beginnings in a New South’

“You can hear the way his words suck the air out of a room. His guitar playing is folkperfect, there’s nary a solo to be found, rarely a strum, phrases of notes fill the spaces in between his brilliant observations.” – American Standard Time

“Bell is spellbinding on stage, a true sage for these troubled times.”Paul Kerr, Americana-UK/Blabber n’ Smoke

“A writer of songs both deeply personal and universal, long may he continue to toll.” – Folk Radio UK

“Bell conveys a poignancy and intensity that enraptures audiences that realise they are in the presence of greatness.” – RNR

01 Angola Prison (2:39)
02 American Gun (featuring Patty Griffin) (4:04)
03 American Blues (for GSH) (3:46)
04 Retread Cadillac (lightnin’) (featuring Regina McCrary) (3:38)
05 A Lucky Man (for my father, the original Dead Man) (featuring Patty Griffin) (4:33)
06 Wrong Man for the Job (2:56)
07 When You’re Dead (Ghost reflects on his dire circumstances) (3:49)
08 Mossberg Blues (featuring Regina McCrary) (3:28)
09 Running on the Razor (family) (featuring Aubrie Sellers) (EXPLICIT) (3:59)
10 Zensuit’s Samadhi Blues (3:38)
11 Monday, Monday (the bony fingers reprise) (3:14)
12 To Each of Us (a shadow) (featuring Patty Griffin) (4:29)
13 Folding Money (you better move along) (2:32)

All songs by Nathan Bell

Website Nathan Bell

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.