News Ticker

Ricci/Krown – City Country City

Gulf Coast Records announces the signing of New Orleans-based artists Jason Ricci and Joe Krown, and will release their debut duo album, City Country City, on October 22. Harmonica player/singer Jason Ricci is a multiple Blues Music
Award-winner, while organ/piano player Joe Krown has legendary Crescent City credentials and is currently the keyboardist in Kenny Wayne Shepherd’s band. Together, they team up as Ricci/Krown on their new CD, City Country City, a retro soul-infused outing that features Jason’s gutsy vocals and stellar harmonica, overlaid with Joe’s melodic and earthy organ playing. City Country City brings back the sound and feel of early 1960s jazz/blues with an original sound all its own.

“I first met Joe Krown as the organist of the Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown band,” recalls Gulf Coast co-owner/artist Mike Zito in announcing the signing. “Joe went on to become a staple first-call musician in New Orleans and a member of the Kenny Wayne Shepherd band. His style is very soulful and organic. Jason Ricci and I were signed to Eclecto Groove Records in the late 2000s in Los Angeles. Jason was touring full time with his band, winning awards and lighting the world on fire with his incendiary harmonica playing and deeply honest song writing. I had never seen anyone play the harmonica the way Jason plays. He is celebrated with BMA awards and nominations for best harmonica. I got a call from Jason last year and after catching up on things, Jason told me about a new project he was really excited about. He had been playing some shows with Joe Krown on organ and famed New Orleans drummer, Doug Belote. They were doing an ‘Organ Trio’ style group, but with harmonica, organ and drums. Jason was singing as well. He told me this is what he’s wanted to do for a long time and they were considering making an album. I got very excited, as I have been a fan of these gentlemen for some years now and the thought of them playing together sounded intriguing.”

“The duo with Doug Belote on drums got into the studio in spring of 2021 in New Orleans and got to work recording fresh new original music and covering some classics as well. The sound is pure joy. The music has air and electricity all at once. It breathes and is urgent. Hearing the tracks for the first time was an experience all its own. It was like hearing music you have never heard before and something you have known all your life. The chemistry between Joe and Jason is obvious and they complement each other’s styles perfectly. I am so excited for everyone to hear this album, City Country City, wonderful music that is a listening pleasure to experience over and over. I am proud this album is released on Gulf Coast Records and I look forward to more music from Jason Ricci and Joe Krown.”

“Working with Joe Krown makes me feel like I’m finally beginning to be a
musical grown-up,” says Jason Ricci about the new album. “But we still have
as much fun as little kids! Being linked up with a New Orleanian with Joe’s
heavyweight history is truly a dream come true.”

“Jason and I quickly connected musically,” adds Joe Krown. “We’re both blues musicians that have also extended into jazz and funk. Within a short period of time we started booking shows under both of our names regularly around New
Orleans and beyond. Our biggest hurdle is finding time that we can play together given both our busy schedules, but Jason and I have always made time and will continue to make time to perform together.”

01 City Country City
02 Down n’ Dirty
03 Badger the Witness
04 My Mama Told Me So
05 Feel Good Funk
06 It Starts With Me
07 Down At The Juke
08 Upshot
09 Drifting Blues
10 The Jimmy Smith Strut
11 Just A Playboy
12 Ode to Billy Joe

Jason Ricci – Vocals & Harmonica
Joe Krown – Hammond B3 Organ & Piano
Doug Belote – Drums

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.