News Ticker

The Porkroll Project – Papa Didn’t Raise Me Right

Label: Roadhouse Redemption Records
Release Date: September 7, 2021

After a brief hiatus and regrouping of the Philadelphia hard-rocking blues band, The Porkroll
Project return with their third album, Papa Didn’ t Raise Me Right, on Roadhouse Redemption
Records. The group of season pros known for its high energy blend of original blues tunes and
fresh covers, is led by guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter Neil “Porkroll” Taylor, whose BBQ and
tasty blues playing is well known throughout the Delaware Valley. Long-time cohort, harp player
and vocalist, Buddy Cleveland rejoins Taylor adding new players to make up an ensemble that
includes drummer John “JT” Thomas, keyboardist Walter Runge with Anthony Pieruccini on bass
and the horn section of trumpeter Chris Neal, Andrew Whisler on trombone and saxophonist
David Renz. Old friend Paul Matecki steps back in to sing on two tracks as a bonus.

The eleven new tracks recorded at Noisy Little Critter Studio outside of Philly, capture the band in
a natural setting allowing them to dig deep into the sordid tales of notorious characters, family
drama, hard times, hard drinking, and the redemption to be found in the blues.

Taylor opens the set with the title track, a guitar driven roots rock confessional of man struggling
to reconcile his wicked ways. A salutary horn calls to us and Matecki steps up to the mic and
leads the crew through a fabulous tale of adventures south of border “Down In Mexico,”
originally recorded by the Coasters in 1957. Chicago-styled R&B “ Going To The Station,” features
fine piano work from Runge and another hot lead from Taylor on a familiar feeling groove.
Mournful Hammond B3 underpins the riff on the slow blues “Crescent Moon,” as Taylor trades
barbs with Renz’ s saxophone before unleashing his Les Paul. The twisting fable, “ Better You Than
Me,” is a clever spin on a timeless yarn about old dogs and new tricks set to a funky country
blues. The funk rolls on as Taylor tries to settle a family feud during “Mama Put The Gun Down,”
then the mood shifts during the uplifting gospel-fueled “Dancing With The Angels.”

The late-night tale of murder and treachery “Nothin’ Yet,” is colored by hot blues harp from
Cleveland and greasy B3 to accompany the Film Noir narrative. “The Next Thing Smokin’ ”
rambles along to a lively New Orleans beat from JT Thomas before the theatrical showstopper

Sentenced To The Blues,” brings the set to a climax. The jaunty “ A Taste Of Malt Liquor,” with
its shout along chorus serves as a party time encore.

With Papa Didn’ t Raise Me Right, Neil Taylor and The Porkroll Project deliver another fine
landmark in their 20 years of making music together. – Rick J Bowen

01 Papa Didn’t Raise Me Right
02 Down In Mexico
03 Going To The Station
04 Crescent Moon
05 Better You Than Me
06 Mama Put The Gun Down
07 Dancing With The Angels
08 Nothin’ Yet
09 The Next Thing Smokin’
10 Sentenced To The Blues
11 A Taste Of Malt Liquor

Website The Porkroll Project

Plaats een reactie

Uw e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd.


Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.